2010 Stevens Institute of Technology Convocation

   Story by Schaefer School of Engineering & Science

September 15, 2010

Victoria O'Connor sings the Star Spangled Banner

Convocation at Stevens opens the new school year by welcoming an incoming undergraduate class and celebrating the successes of students and faculty over the course of the previous academic year.

This year, Professor Linda Vollkommer led the traditional opening procession and, together with Provost and Interim President of Stevens Institute of Technology Dr. George P. Korfiatis, hosted the ceremony, which featured a welcome message from Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer and a keynote address delivered by The Honorable Albio Sires, U.S. Congressional Representative from New Jersey's 13th District.

The Honorable Albio Sires at StevensHoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer at Stevens


Stephanie Spelman '11, Student Government Association President, then invited incoming freshman to take advantage of campus activities, and Spencer Horton '12, Chairman of the Honor Board, inducted the new students into the Honor System.

Dr. Korfiatis and Dr. Michael Bruno, Dean of the Schaefer School of Engineering and Science next presented the University Faculty Recognition Awards, followed by student awards, given by Joseph Stahley, Assistant Vice President for Student Development, and Kenneth Nilsen, Dean of Student Life.

The faculty honors bestowed showcase the exceptional teaching ability, research accomplishments, and high esteem of the faculty. Professors at Stevens have the unique ability to work as industry and government leaders in their professional field of choice, while maintaining an absolute dedication to providing unique, challenging, and rewarding experiences for students. The awards have been made possible by the Charles V. Schaefer Jr. Fund for Excellence and include a cash prize along with the appropriate award title for the year following.

Read more »

© Stevens Institute of Technology. All rights reserved.